General

Visions of Surrey’s past

John Hassell (1823), Byfleet Church. Reproduced by permission of Surrey County Council's History Centre. Click here to see more paintings and to download.

A free exhibition of watercolours is giving gallery-goers a fascinating glimpse into Surrey’s past.

Artworks by father and son John and Edward Hassell are on display at the Lightbox in Woking until 19 February. The pair produced more than 2,000 watercolours of Surrey during the early 1800s.

This exhibition, organised with Surrey County Council’s History Centre, Lambeth Archives and supported by The Friends of The Lightbox, focuses on the Hassells’ depictions of Woking and its surrounding parishes, revealing a picturesque view of Surrey before the age of the railway.

Julian Pooley, from Surrey County Council’s History Centre, said: “This exhibition brings together an impressive range of watercolours that excel in both picturesque beauty and architectural interest. The churches, cottages, houses and street scenes recorded by the Hassells provide a fascinating glimpse of our county nearly two centuries ago. Though many buildings can still be identified, others have disappeared or been altered radically over time.”

The Lightbox, in Chobham Road, Woking, is open Tuesdays to Saturdays, 10.30am to 5.00pm and on Sundays between 11am and 5pm. Entrance is free. For more information please visit www.thelightbox.org.uk.

ENDS

For more information and photos contact Emma Hanson on 01483 737819 or emma.hanson@thelightbox.org.uk, or Becky Bristow on 01483 737810 or becky.bristow@thelightbox.org.uk.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Categories

Enter your email address to receive new releases by email.

Contact a local councillor

%d bloggers like this: