Council celebrates Surrey’s heroes at award ceremony

Surrey County Council will celebrate the incredible efforts of those working and living in the county at the first Stars in Surrey recognition awards, taking place at Sandown Park Racecourse on Wednesday 7 December.

Hosted by BBC broadcaster Peter Gordon, the event will recognise people like Irina Garmash-Creeger, Founder of Ukraine UK Unity, who is a finalist in the ‘Make It Happen Community Hero Award’ for her work to help over 100 Ukranian refugees arrive and settle in Woking. Jo Ellis is a finalist in the ‘Frontline Worker Of The Year’ award after being nominated five separate times by her co-workers for putting the needs of Surrey’s most vulnerable elderly people before her own, conducting vital face to face visits throughout the Covid pandemic.

These are just some examples of the incredible efforts that teams and individuals within Surrey County Council workforce and throughout the county have displayed over the past few years. Anyone in Surrey has the opportunity to vote for their own People’s Choice winner by visiting:, where they can pick from 5 Surrey County Council workers who have demonstrated that they care deeply about Surrey residents, going above and beyond, being open and a team player.

Peter Gordon said: “It’s such an honour to be asked to compere the event – it’s a great idea, and important, to celebrate excellent work at Surrey County Council. I’m very excited about sharing such a special evening with so many great people.”

The event has only been made possible by generous sponsorship from our headline sponsors Pick Everard  (The Make It Happen Community Hero – Empowering Communities)and award category sponsors, Vail Williams (Young Employee Of The Year), Concerto   (Championing Equality, Diversity and Inclusion), Atkins Global (Frontline Worker of the Year), Tile Hill (The Jacqueline Foglietta Unsung Hero) and IMPOWER (Team Award for Innovative Working).

Pick Everard, headline sponsor, said “Pick Everard is proud to be headline sponsors of the Stars in Surrey Awards. The awards are a fantastic opportunity to recognise and celebrate the success of the incredible projects, people, and teams across the county.’


Notes to editors

  1. About Stars in Surrey Awards

Surrey County Council is hosting its first Surrey-wide recognition awards – Stars in Surrey – celebrating the efforts and successes of teams across Surrey County Council as well as our partners and heroes in our communities.  

Over the past few years, we’ve seen some incredible efforts and projects from teams and individuals in our workforce and beyond. Stars in Surrey will be an opportunity to come together and show our appreciation for everyone who provides tireless service to Surrey and the people who live and work here.

The awards cover a range of categories which reflect some of the changes to our ways of working since the pandemic, and others, including: excellence in customer service, the championing of our equality, diversity and inclusion values, as well as an award for proactive environmental work. While most of the awards recognise our staff and are nominated internally, the Community Hero Award, the Award for Outstanding Customer Service and Frontline Worker of the Year will celebrate a Surrey resident or worker and be chosen by residents, businesses or other organisations.

  • The shortlisted finalists and award categories

Award for Outstanding Customer Service

  • Clare Hodgson, Trading Standards Specialist, Surrey, Customer and Communities, Buckinghamshire and Surrey Trading Standards
  • Angela Thomas, Chalkmead Care Home Residential Care, Adult Social Care and Integrated Commissioning
  • Lynn Hargreaves-McCallum, SSIASS Manager, Children, Families and Learning

Championing Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • Funke Adelekun, Principal Project Manager, IMP Major Projects
  • Saba Hussain, Strategic Lead, Partnerships Policy, Resources
  • Sabrina Peters, Participation Officer for CAMHS & SEND, Children, Families and Learning

Young Employee of the Year Award

  • Durante Cartwright, Weekend Library Assistant at Camberley Library, Customer and Communities
  • Hannah Mudd, Library Assistant, Customer and Communities
  • Charlotte Hards, Planning and Projects Officer, Children, Families and Learning

The Jacqueline Foglietta Unsung Hero Award

  • Sarah Hitching, Library Assistant at Horley Library, Customer & Communities,
  • Sabrina Peters, Participation Officer for CAMHS & SEND, Children, Families and Learning
  • Andy Baldwin, Support Worker, Leaving Care Teams, Children, Families and Lifelong Learning

The Make It Happen Community Hero Award

  • Tracey Morris, Communities & Prevention Coordinator, Adult Social Care and Integrated Commissioning, Community and Prevention – Armed Forces Champion
  • Bourne Mill Farnham Community Recycling Team
  • Irina Garmash-Creeger, Ukraine UK Unity Woking

The Greener Future Champion of the Year Award (Enabling a greener future)

  • Sharon Newton, Resource Manager, Children, Families and Learning
  • Melania Tarquino, Strategic Energy Lead, Environment, Transport and Infrastructure
  • Brune Torrente, Greener Futures Grant Programme Officer, Environment, Transport and Infrastructure

The Frontline Worker of the Year Award (No One Left Behind)

  • Jo Ellis, Occupational Therapist Assistant, Elmbridge Locality Team, Adult Social Care and Integrated Commissioning
  • Alice Thornton, Personal Advisor, North West Care Leaver Service, Children, Families and Lifelong Learning
  • Gill Gillard, Senior Social Worker, Projects Team, Adult Social Care and Integrated Commissioning

The People’s Choice Award

  • Lisa Woodruff-Trustcott, Senior Carers Practice Development Advisor, Health, Wellbeing and Adult Social Care
  • Christy Niven, Specialist Speech & Language Therapist, Children, Families and Learning
  • Candida Hill, My Helpdesk Local Assistance Supervisor, Surrey Crisis Fund, Resources
  • Sarah Oxby, Employability and Communities Manager, Surrey Choices, Customer and Communities,
  • Sophie Thornton, Assistant Head of Resourcing, Resources

Entrepreneurial Person or Team of the Year Award (Creating a Sustainable Economy)

  • Caroline Price, Countryside Events and Communications Manager and Helen Delatouche, Countryside Events and Activities Officer. Countryside Team, Environment, Transport and Infrastructure.
  • The Intrapreneurial Mastery Programme – organisers and staff across different directorates
  • Rebecca Brooker, Prevention and Communities Lead, Adult Social Care and Integrated Commissioning

Team Award for Innovative Working

  • South-West Asylum Care Leavers’ Team – Children, Families and Lifelong Learning
  • Communications Team, Communications & Engagement
  • Systems & Analytics Team, Environment, Transport and Infrastructure


Comments are closed.


Enter your email address to receive new releases by email.

%d bloggers like this: